Chinese Observations, Part 1 of 1

  • Seriously?  No fortune cookies?
    • I’m sorry, I thought I was in CHINA.
  • 20+ people can fit in a van.  With climbing gear.  In 90-degree weather.  NBD.
    • Sweat doesn’t always collect at the feet of the smelliest person on public transportation.
      • But it sometimes does.
        • I stink.
  • Injuries act very strangely here.  Climbing at White Mountain a few days ago, I bumped my left shin on the rock.  Within 10 seconds, a 2″ square section of my shin had swollen to over 1.5″ high.  Within 10 minutes, it receded.  I’d never seen anything like it, was completely mortified, and have nothing but a 4″ square bruise to show for it.  Some call it a Communi-njury.
  • Practicing your “1, 2, 3’s” in Chinese, aloud, while walking down the road, is frowned upon by Chinese people who just see and hear a foreigner repeating “1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6….shoot…what’s….oh oh yeah, 7, 8, 9, 10.
  • There are so many Chinese people here.  It caught me off guard.
  • I somehow ended up climbing in Yangshuo, which Chinese people popularly and mutually consider “the most beautiful place in China.”  This is amazing, especially considering some of the other stuff in China:
  • My Chinese name (officially assigned by a real, living, Chinese man) can be interpreted as a number of incorrect things, depending on the tonality with which it is pronounced.  Allow me to share some of the seemingly endless variations, including one which is the correct interpretation (first reader to guess my correct Chinese name and comment wins a prize!) (remember, a simple mis-pronunciation of my name could result in any of these):
    • To Skate-Liquid Ammonia
    • Willow-Wild Goose
    • Tumor-Mole
    • Earth-Cliff
    • To Walk a Horse-Flame
    • Pomegranate-To Loathe
    • Depth (of water)-To Have a Nightmare
    • To Reheat Cold Food by Steaming It-Slug

Mid-climb @ Space Buttress. Yangshuo, China. 2011

Leaving White Mountain. Yangshuo, China. 2011

About @brodyleven

tourist.
This entry was posted in Contests, Korea & China 2011, traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chinese Observations, Part 1 of 1

  1. mother says:

    I hope the correct answer is Willow-Wild Goose as that’s quite nice sounding as is Earth-Cliff. If it’s Tumor-Mole or To Reheat Cold Food by Steaming It-Slug, your dad and I are really sorry we named you Brody.
    Regardless of the tonation you’re still Brody to me! Miss and Love U mom

  2. Pingback: Where are this Guy’s Pants!? Observations from China, part 2 of 1 | brody leven

Leave a Reply

