How a Business Should Operate (…to best service the nomad)

image

image

image

image

The concept of genuine customer service falls short in many areas of the modern service industry.  Maybe tradesmen and tradeswomen see themselves as superior and, thus, capable of charging a premium for poorly rendered–with regard to attitude–services.

Yesterday, after “EXHAUSTed” pumped the brakes on my morning (see previous post) I got on my Droid, Googled “Bozeman muffler” from my car, and followed GPS directions to the first shop that showed up.  I was driving a car that was sitting 3″ lower than it should due to its excessive payload, sounding like it was dragging 20 soda cans tied on strings, through a nice and quiet Montana town.

I crossed my fingers in hopes of an understanding and sympathetic shop employee who was looking to help a fellow (… insert ANYthing we had in common).
Silent Knight Muffler is not a shop that suffers from poor service offerings.  Instead, in fact, the owner walked outside to meet me before I was even out of the car.
Having heard me from a mile away, he quickly said, “Looks like you’re trying to get home.  We’ll have you out of here in no time.”  He was obviously in the middle of other projects, but within 10 minutes, my over-stuffed, out-of-state (and out-of-date) car was 8 feet in the air.  Justin, the owner, understood my situation without me explaining anything, put his scheduled jobs aside, and was doing everything in his power to get me back on the road to begin my long drive.

As he started to weld, he gave me an honest evaluation of the imminent future of my exhaust with full knowledge that any repairs he recommended would not be completed at his shop.  Very rare.

“Must be nice to be able to weld,” I commented.
“Meh, it’s a trade.”
“No, that’s an art,” I surmised, watching him carefully repair a rusted piece of 2″ pipe with the precision of a surgeon.

10 minutes later, he was lowering my car and pulling it off the ramp.  Except unlike when he pulled it ONto the lift, it didn’t sound like a ’95 Civic with a glass pack; instead, it reminded us of the (old) luxury wagon (with numerous other audible mechanical problems) that it is (with 5 roof racks and an inability to see out any window–and I’m not talking about the tint).

If you’re in Bozeman, or Montana, or the continental United States, and in need of exhaust work, consider Silent Knight.  That way, you can get back on the road and enjoy beautiful views of the Teton range.

About @brodyleven

tourist.
This entry was posted in reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

