Kites and Cockroaches

A few weeks ago, I went to sleep with a 2″ cockroach crawling around the vinyl couch I slept on, face-down.

2 nights ago, as friends and I spent 16+ hours sleeping on the cement floor of a dirty Indian train station, I awoke the others as I jumped up and brushed an enormous rat off my face and watched it run away.

Internet is sporadic at best.  I’m with 3 friends now.  Yesterday, we happened upon Jaipur, India, on the day of its annual Kite Festival.  The entire city was on rooftops, flying kites and trying to knock others from the sky.

Where are you right now?

About @brodyleven

tourist.
This entry was posted in india 2010 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kites and Cockroaches

  1. Connor says:

    The rat was actually on your face?!

  2. Chanel says:

    Brody,

    Hey, I’ve been doing some thinking and was wondering when you come back from India. What’s the date and time exactly? I was thinking about maybe giving you a ride up to Bozeman from Vegas. Let me know. Email me (chanelw@umich.edu) with all your flight details if you are interested.

    Hope you are having a blast and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    xoxo
    Chanel

  3. Mike says:

    if you were impressed by the kites, you should stick around for holi. It’s one of the most incredible things I’ve ever seen. As an American its difficult to comprehend the concept of large crowds of people throwing paints and dyes at one another, but in India if you don’t partake, you’re the weird one. Despite its shortcomings in sanitation, cleanliness and overall government stability, visiting India was one of the greatest experiences of my life. Over everything else, the one thing I take back from my trip was that Indian festivals are absolutely amazing.

    Where are you going to travel to during your time in India?

    • brodyleven says:

      Hi Mike,
      I want to visit India during Holi SO badly. It sounds like the coolest experience, and, as you said, hard for me to even imagine. I’m so jealous you were here for it! What city were you in for the festival?
      I’ve quickly traveled through a lot of north/central india…check back for details about where and what happened.

      • Mike says:

        I cant even describe how amazing holi was. I still don’t understand all of the intricacies of what exactly was being celebrated, but I’m ok with it. My girlfriend at the time was born in the US but had visited India annually to see her extended family, so last year I visited with her. Her family lives primarily in Dehli, but we made the trip about, 175 km to Mathura, which I’m told is the Holi equivalent of New Years in NYC. I didn’t stay there for the whole festival, but we stayed for a few nights. The only downside is how crowded the city was, and when I say it was crowded for India, I’m sure you know what I mean.

        I’m planning to go back for a month and then fly a ways west and then work my way west through Europe after I get my bachelors, before I start grad school.

        Please keep me updated on your trip!

Leave a Reply

